Board of Directors

Iowa Nutrient Research & Education Council Board of Directors

Board Officers:

Dave Coppess, Heartland Co-op (Chair)

Fertilizer Retailers

Dave is currently the Executive Vice President of Sales and Marketing, Heartland Co-op, West Des Moines, Iowa. Dave is serving as Chairman of the INREC board. He participates in several other industry organizations and projects including Agriculture’s Clean Water Alliance (ACWA), and 4 R’s Technical Advisory Group (TAG). Dave represented ag retailers for 6 years on the Agricultural Retailers Association (ARA) board, serving as Chairman in 2006.

Craig Hill, Iowa Farm Bureau (Vice-Chair)

Iowa Farm Bureau

Craig is the president of the Iowa Farm Bureau. As president, Craig serves as chairman of the board of FBL Financial Group, Inc., and Farm Bureau Life Companies. In addition, he serves on the American Farm Bureau Board of Directors. In June 2015, he was appointed to the USDA’s Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee on Trade. He also served as the first chairman of the Iowa Ag State Group, which consists of representatives from all sectors of Iowa’s agriculture.

Dave Struthers, Iowa Pork Producers (Treasurer)

Dave has served on the Iowa Pork Producers Association Board of Directors since 2009 and is currently the IPPA president. He has been a member of the IPPA Executive Committee and chaired several others. He is a member of the Story County Pork Producers and has served that organization as treasurer and board member. Dave has been a delegate to the IPPA Annual Meeting for several years and has participated in pork promotions, the American Farm Bureau and the Animal Health Advisory Committee. His promotional work earned him a state Hog Wild Award.

Roger Zylstra, Iowa Corn (Secretary)

Corn Producers

Roger Zylstra has been farming for 40 years raising corn, soybeans, finishing hogs, and cattle near Lynnville in Jasper County. He has used conservation tillage and no-till throughout his farming career and recycles manure into his nutrient management program. Roger uses precision agriculture, incorporates fall cover crops and is enrolled in the Soil Health Partnership Program. Roger currently serves as the Iowa Corn Promotion Board Vice President and is the former vice chair of the Animal Agriculture & The Environment Committee. He also serves on the U.S. Meat Export Federation Pork Advisory Committee, the National Corn Growers Association’s (NCGA) Growers Service Action Team, the U.S. Grains Council Biotech Action Team as well as chairman of the NCGA Stewardship Action Team. Roger has served on the Sully Co-op Associate Board, filled all leadership positions with the Jasper County Farm Bureau and is a graduate of the Iowa Corn Leadership Enhancement and Development (I-LEAD) program.

Joel Brinkmeyer, Agribusiness Association of Iowa (CEO)

Agribusiness Association of Iowa

Joel was named Chief Executive Officer of the Agribusiness Association of Iowa (AAI) in May 2013. Brinkmeyer, a native of Radcliffe, Iowa, is a graduate of Iowa State University with a major in Animal Science and minor in Ag Business. He served in various lending and administrative positions with Production Credit Association, Farm Credit Services of America, and Great Western Bank. His career also includes 20 years as Executive Vice President of the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association the Iowa Beef Industry Council, and the Iowa Cattlemen’s Foundation.



Board Members:

John Weber, Soybean Producer Representative

Soybean Producer Representative

John Weber is a grain and livestock producer from Dysart Iowa. John has been active in the pork industry as well as other state and local commodity organizations. After serving as president of the Iowa Pork Producers organization in 2010 John went on to serve on the National Pork Producers Council. Most recently John served as president of NPPC in 2016 and is currently serving on the NPPC Environmental Committee and NPPC Trade Committee. John has implemented multiple conservation practices in his farming operation over the years including the use of cover crops and installation of saturated buffers. John is a participant in the middle Cedar River Project and a firm believer in the Iowa Nutrient Reduction Strategy.

Bruce Baier, Ag Partners, LLC

Certified Crop Advisers

Bruce Baier is currently the Director of Precision Ag Services for Ag Partners, LLC. Bruce has been CCA certified since 1996, was an Iowa CCA Board member for 6 years, a past Chair of the Iowa CCA Board, and an International CCA Board member for 2 years. He was recognized as the Iowa CCA of year in 2011, and received the 2013 Iowa Secretary of Agriculture’s Water Quality Initiative Leader Award for Iowa CCA.

Craig Struve, SoilView LLC

Agribusiness Association of Iowa

Craig Struve is currently the President of Midwest Independent Soil Samplers LLC. Mr. Struve has spent over 40 years in production agricultural businesses including operating an independent agronomy service center providing crop nutrients, seed, crop chemicals, application and crop data management in conjunction with a successful precision program. Craig was a previous member of the Agribusiness Association of Iowa Nutrient Management Task Force from 2013-2015.

Brent Schwenneker, Bayer Crop Science

Board Member / Crop Production Companies

Paul Poister, Nutrien

Fertilizer Manufacturers/Wholesalers

Paul is currently the Government and Community Relations Manager at Agrium U.S., Inc. Paul joined Agrium in 2008 and works on a variety of communications, media and government affairs projects. Paul is a graduate of The Catholic University of America in Washington, DC where he earned a BA degree in political science. Paul served for 10 years in the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives in senior staff positions.

Ex-Officio Board Members:

Mike Naig, Secretary of Agriculture

Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Mike Naig grew up on a family farm in the northwest corner of the state near Cylinder, Iowa and he continues to be involved in the operation today. Mike was appointed by Governor Kim Reynolds to succeed Bill Northey as Iowa Secretary of Agriculture on Monday, March 5, 2018. Prior to that, he had served as Iowa Deputy Secretary of Agriculture since September 2013. In a state where agriculture is a leading economic driver, Mike knows that protecting our air, soil and water is essential to our success. He is proud that Iowans are taking on the challenge of improving water quality and will continue to pursue new public-private partnerships to protect our precious natural resources. As Secretary, he is committed to leading efforts to expand economic opportunities for Iowans and advocating in Iowa and around the globe on behalf of the hard-working men and women who keep us fed and fueled. Attracting and retaining talent in Iowa agriculture is a reoccurring topic during his 99 county visits and Mike believes we need to continue to engage young people and encourage them to pursue rewarding careers in agriculture. As Deputy Secretary under Bill Northey, Mike had been responsible for the operations of the department, specifically policy, budget and personnel. Before joining the Department, Mike had been active in the agribusiness industry for more than 13 years, having served in public policy roles for state and national trade associations and in private industry. Mike is a graduate of Buena Vista University in Storm Lake with degrees in biology and political science. He and his wife Jaime have three boys.