Board of Directors

Iowa Nutrient Research & Education Council Board of Directors

Board Officers:

Dave Coppess, Heartland Co-op (Chair)

Fertilizer Retailers

Dave is currently the Executive Vice President of Sales and Marketing, Heartland Co-op, West Des Moines, Iowa. Dave is serving as Chairman of the INREC board. He participates in several other industry organizations and projects including Agriculture’s Clean Water Alliance (ACWA), and 4 R’s Technical Advisory Group (TAG). Dave represented ag retailers for 6 years on the Agricultural Retailers Association (ARA) board, serving as Chairman in 2006.

Craig Hill, Iowa Farm Bureau (Vice-Chair)

Iowa Farm Bureau

Craig is the president of the Iowa Farm Bureau. As president, Craig serves as chairman of the board of FBL Financial Group, Inc., and Farm Bureau Life Companies. In addition, he serves on the American Farm Bureau Board of Directors. In June 2015, he was appointed to the USDA’s Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee on Trade. He also served as the first chairman of the Iowa Ag State Group, which consists of representatives from all sectors of Iowa’s agriculture.

Dave Struthers, Iowa Pork Producers (Treasurer)

Dave has served on the Iowa Pork Producers Association Board of Directors since 2009 and is currently the IPPA president. He has been a member of the IPPA Executive Committee and chaired several others. He is a member of the Story County Pork Producers and has served that organization as treasurer and board member. Dave has been a delegate to the IPPA Annual Meeting for several years and has participated in pork promotions, the American Farm Bureau and the Animal Health Advisory Committee. His promotional work earned him a state Hog Wild Award.

Roger Zylstra, Iowa Corn (Secretary)

Corn Producers

Joel Brinkmeyer, Agribusiness Association of Iowa (CEO)

Agribusiness Association of Iowa

Joel was named Chief Executive Officer of the Agribusiness Association of Iowa (AAI) in May 2013. Brinkmeyer, a native of Radcliffe, Iowa, is a graduate of Iowa State University with a major in Animal Science and minor in Ag Business. He served in various lending and administrative positions with Production Credit Association, Farm Credit Services of America, and Great Western Bank. His career also includes 20 years as Executive Vice President of the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association the Iowa Beef Industry Council, and the Iowa Cattlemen’s Foundation.



Board Members:

John Weber, Soybean Producer Representative

Soybean Producer Representative

Bruce Baier, Ag Partners, LLC

Certified Crop Advisers

Bruce Baier is currently the Director of Precision Ag Services for Ag Partners, LLC. Bruce has been CCA certified since 1996, was an Iowa CCA Board member for 6 years, a past Chair of the Iowa CCA Board, and an International CCA Board member for 2 years. He was recognized as the Iowa CCA of year in 2011, and received the 2013 Iowa Secretary of Agriculture’s Water Quality Initiative Leader Award for Iowa CCA.

Craig Struve, SoilView LLC

Agribusiness Association of Iowa

Craig Struve is currently the President of Midwest Independent Soil Samplers LLC. Mr. Struve has spent over 40 years in production agricultural businesses including operating an independent agronomy service center providing crop nutrients, seed, crop chemicals, application and crop data management in conjunction with a successful precision program. Craig was a previous member of the Agribusiness Association of Iowa Nutrient Management Task Force from 2013-2015.

David Tierney, Monsanto

Board Member / Crop Production Companies

Dave is Regional Director of Government Affairs for Monsanto. His responsibilities include oversight of all state legislative and regulatory activities in the upper Midwest for the company. He joined Monsanto after the company acquired DEKALB and merged its agricultural divisions into one organization. Dave is the current Chair of the Agribusiness Association of Iowa Board of Directors.

Paul Poister, Agrium U.S., Inc.

Fertilizer Manufacturers/Wholesalers

Paul is currently the Government and Community Relations Manager at Agrium U.S., Inc. Paul joined Agrium in 2008 and works on a variety of communications, media and government affairs projects. Paul is a graduate of The Catholic University of America in Washington, DC where he earned a BA degree in political science. Paul served for 10 years in the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives in senior staff positions.

Ex-Officio Board Members:

Bill Northey, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture

Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Bill was reelected to his third term as Iowa Secretary of Agriculture in November of 2014, winning with 62 percent of the vote. His priorities as Secretary of Agriculture are advancing science and new technologies to better care for our air, soil and water and reaching out to all Iowans to tell the story of Iowa agriculture.